Tags

, , , , , ,

Redemption

This letter is to you my old, long time master. You owned me once, back when I was your slave. And I was your slave for such a long time. And I was an obedient slave, doing all that you ever asked.  But you were a cruel master, reveling in my misery and pain. You loved to see me crushed under the weight of the burdens you heaped upon my back. You, Mr. Sin, were an evil taskmaster and I would cry out in my pitiful state, asking for mercy, but you had none to give. You owned me and there was nothing I could do about it. For where could I go? I was left to weep in my bed, awash in my tears, alone and unheard. But then one day, someone did hear me.

One day an innocent man died for me. It was the price you had set Mr. Sin, in order for me to be free. It was the cost of my redemption. The blood of the innocent lamb. The lamb without blemish. It was his blood that redeemed me. It was him who set me free. Thanks be to God for Jesus Christ who paid the price to you once and for all, and now I am free. I have been redeemed.

I now have a new master. A master who loves me and whose yoke is easy and whose burdens are light My new master never wants to see me suffer. He goes to the Father on my behalf. He cares for me. He is busy preparing a place for me. He is always with me and will never leave me. He was tempted in all things, but never gave in and was never beholden to you Mr. Sin. The cost for my redemption was steep, but I am grateful. For without redemption I would still be in bondage to the evil slave master, you Mr. Sin. And I would be lost and alone.

As this song, Redeemed, by Big Daddy Weave attests, I’m not who I used to be. The heavy chains have been removed and the many stains wiped clean. The outside scars may forever be there, but I no longer feel the pain. Inside I am healed, clean and whole. An unworthy man has now been made worthy. I am a free man! Hallelujah!

For it is by Grace you have been saved, through faith. And this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God. 

